Conservation International::  Tortoise & Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group::  Turtle Survival Alliance::  Turtle Conservancy  ::  Chelonian Research Foundation::  European Assoc. Zoos & Aquaria

About the Turtle Conservation Fund

The Turtle Conservation Fund (TCF) was established in 2002 as a partnership initiative of Conservation International, IUCN Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group (TFTSG), and Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA). In 2007 it was joined by the Shellshock Campaign of the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria, and in 2009 expanded to become a broader-based partnership coalition of several leading turtle conservation organizations and individuals. Global Wildlife Conservation (GWC), Turtle Conservancy (TC), and Chelonian Research Foundation (CRF) currently serve as the financial umbrella organizations for the TCF. 

The TCF issued a detailed Summary Activity Report in 2019 summarizing its grant-making activity from 2002 through 2018, during which time over US$ 1 million in grant support was distributed to over 250 projects focused on endangered and threatened turtles and tortoises. This report can be downloaded here and from the adjacent image.

The TCF partnership coalition at this time (March 2019) includes the following organizations:

Global Wildlife Conservation • Turtle Conservancy • Chelonian Research Foundation •  IUCN Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group • Turtle Survival Alliance • Humane Society International – Australia • The Panaphil and Uphill Foundations • Surprise Spring Foundation • Andrew Sabin Family Foundation

Previous coalition partners include the following organizations:

Conservation International • Wildlife Conservation Society • Chelonian Research Institute • European Association of Zoos and Aquaria / Shellshock Campaign

The TCF administers a turtle conservation and research grants program focused on endangered tortoises and freshwater turtles. Awards are granted to organizations or individuals for specific conservation or research projects dealing with highly endangered  tortoises or freshwater turtles, but not marine turtles, with either partial or full support as funding allows. Please visit the TCF Grants page for details regarding application instructions and a listing of funded projects.

Several TCF Alliance Partners have also contributed to global turtle conservation efforts, either directly through TCF with various levels of support, or through their own independent conservation programs for turtles developed or supported in some measure in partial collaboration or consulation with TCF's prioritizing and funding mechanisms. The efforts of TCF have benefitted greatly from the collaborative and cooperative approach of these turtle-focused conservation organizations.

The TCF is managed by its Executive Board, which is composed of the following individuals:

Mission to Mars divx
Christmas Vacation the movie

3000 Miles to Graceland release

Urban Justice trailer

Executive Committee of the Board

Hugh R. Quinn, Co-Chair
Retired, Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
     Former Chair, AZA Chelonian Advisory Group

Anders G.J. Rhodin, Co-Chair
Founder and Director, Chelonian Research Foundation
     Executive Vice Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     Chairman of the Board, Turtle Conservancy

Eric V. Goode
President and CEO, Turtle Conservancy
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Rick Hudson
     President and CEO, Turtle Survival Alliance 
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Russell A. Mittermeier
     Chief Conservation Officer, Global Wildlife Conservation
     Past President, Conservation International
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Peter Paul van Dijk
     Director, Field Conservation Programs, Turtle Conservancy
     Director, Turtle Program, Global Wildlife Conservation
     Deputy Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group

Regular Board Members

Gary Ades
Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden, Hong Kong
Chris B. Banks
     Melbourne Zoo, Australia
Kurt A. Buhlmann
     University of Georgia; Savannah River Ecology Laboratory

Matt Frankel
     Surprise Spring Foundation, Prescott, Arizona
Paul M. Gibbons
Turtle Conservancy, Ojai, California
Cris Hagen
Turtle Survival Center, Cross, South Carolina
Brian D. Horne
Wildlife Conservation Society
Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
John B. Iverson

     Earlham College, Richmond, Indiana
Gerald Kuchling
     Chelonia Enterprises, Australia 
     Executive CommitteeIUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Richard E. Lewis
Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, Madagascar
Luca Luiselli
     Centre of Environmental Studies Demetra, Rome, Italy
George Meyer
     Conservationist, Seattle, Washington
Vivian P. Páez
     Universidad de Antioquia, Medellin, Colombia

Peter C.H. Pritchard
     President, Chelonian Research Institute, Oviedo, Florida
Martina Raffel

Stiftung Artenschutz, Münster, Germany
Maurice Rodrigues
Turtle Conservancy;
Andrew Sabin Family Foundation
Craig B. Stanford
Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California

Andrew Walde
     Chief Operating Officer, Turtle Survival Alliance 
     Executive CommitteeIUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     Walde Research & Environmental Consulting, Atascadero, California

Former Board Members: († = deceased)

James E. Barzyk
     Program Manager, Turtle Survival Alliance
John L. Behler †

     Co-Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group;
      Bronx Zoo, Wildlife Conservation Society

Kevin R. Buley

     Director, EAZA Shellshock Campaign; Chester Zoo, United Kingdom
Antoine Cadi
Rogue movie Conservationist, France
Bernard Devaux
     SOPTOM, Gonfaron, France

Douglas B. Hendrie
     Asian Turtle Conservation Network, Vietnam
Susan Lieberman
     Conservationist, Washington, DC, USA
Hans-Dieter Philippen †
     Turtle Survival Alliance / TSA Europe, Germany

Colin Poole

     Director, Asia Program, Wildlife Conservation Society, Singapore
Walter C. Sedgwick
     Turtle Survival Alliance; Island Foundation; GG Wade Trust
Henk Zwartepoorte †
     Rotterdam Zoo, Netherlands; Turtle Survival Alliance / TSA Europe